Money

I would like to take a moment and let you all in on a secret. I am broke. And it ain’t no joke! Seriously, we were financially unprepared for my maternity leave, mostly due to the fact that I was so exhausted during my pregnancy that I didn’t care that I was working less. Therefore we were not saving like we should have been and now 3 months after having the most beautiful child ever (not counting our other beautiful children) we are broke.
I spend every other day hashing out our bank account in order to avoid overdraft fees and updating my husband on our status. Currently our goal is to go an entire month without the threat of (or actual) shut off utilities. That is no fun at all. Last month I started a budget on mint.com and I must say, it is AWESOME. Loving the graphs. They have been great in explaining to my husband why we have no money.
So now, after only one month of penny pinching and not allowing any extra purchases I am anticipating that this Friday I will be able to pay all “life sustaining” bills (electric, groceries etc.) and have money left over for other debts. (this could also be considered reason #4 of why I am not to excited about “Girls Night Out.”)

After this week, since we are catching up a bit, it will be much more difficult to keep my husband on the bandwagon. He hates my restrictions and feels like he should be able to spend on little purchases through the week as he sees fit. (however this is what sinks our boat over time.) Anyway wish me luck. Things are going better in this department, but we are not out of the woods yet!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

